Sound examples (of the virtual organ)

J. S. Bach / D. Zipoli / J. F. Dandrieu: Mini concert 'Colourful advent in Weissenau' (31:11)

Corrette, Michel: Suite du Premier ton (12:47)

J.S. Bach / M. Corrette / L.-C. Daquin: 2024 New Year's Concert (28:22)



Johann Nepomuk Holzhey (1741-1809) was one of the great master organ builders of South Germany in the second half of the 18th century. In recent years Holzhey has received increasing attention. His instruments have been restored in the last three decades so that his relevance with regard to South German organ building has become visible again. He succeeded in developing a distinct personal style.

"His organs are part of the Rococo and Classical era but in his final creations the influence of Romantic sound aesthetics can be felt with increasing intensity. He is a contemporary of Haydn and Mozart. In Holzhey the classical organ attains its zenith."
(Dr. Ulrich Höflacher)

Further information about Holzhey and the Weissenau organ can be found [here].



I Hauptwerk (C-f3/c4*)  
Prestant (C*/c-f3/c4*) 16'  
Principal 8'  
Copel 8'  
Quintadena 8'  
Gamba 8'  
Viola (Schwebung) 8'  
Octav 4'  
Flöten 4'  
Nazard 2f. 2'  
Superoctav 2'  
Sexqualter 3-4f. 3'  
Mixtur 6f. 2'  
Cornet 3f. (g-f3/c4*) 3'  
Trompet 8'  
Clairon 4'  
II Positiv (C-f3/c4*)  
Principal 8'  
Rohrflöten 8'  
Salicional 8'  
Unda Maris (Schwebung) 8'  
Flautravers (g-f3/c4*) 8'  
Octav 4'  
Holflöten 4'  
Fugari 4'  
Quint 3'  
Syflöt*1 2'  
Hörnle 2'  
Cimbal 5f. 2'+1 3/5'  
Fagott (C-b) 8'  
Hautbois (c'-f3/c4*) 8'  
III Echo (C-f3/c4*)  
Nachthorn 8'  
Dulciana 8'  
Spitzflöten 4'  
Flageolet 2'  
Cornet Resit 4f. 4'  
Vox Humana Bass (C-b) 8'  
Vox Humana Diskant (c'-f3/c4*) 8'  
Cromorne (C-b) 8'  
Schalmei (c'-f3/c4*) 8'  
Tremulant (Diskant)    
P Pedal (C-d'/f'*)
Subbaß 16'  
Octavbaß 8'  
Violonbaß 8'  
Cornetbaß 4'  
Bompard 16'  
Trompet 8'  
Clairon 4'  
Echo-Cupl III-I    
Positiv-Cupl II-I    
Tuttibaß I-P    
Tuning : Reconstructed, similar to Werckmeister 1691, f(a')=436 Hz
* Premium version extensions
1 In Obermarchtal (1780) Holzhey installed a Syflöt 2' instead of Fugari 4'


About this virtual organ

The virtual Holzhey organ is available in two versions:

The two-channel standard version that is based on the original instrument with regard to range (54 manual and 27 pedal keys).

The four-channel premium version is additionally equipped with faders for direct sound and ambience that can be used to adjust the listening position (see below) and an extended range (61 manual and 32 pedal keys).

Recordings have been carefully planned and performed using reference quality equipment. Processing and mastering has been done with the MLP© (multi layer processing) system develped by PROSPECTUM.

Further information about the virtual Weissenau organ can be found [here].

Highlights of this virtual organ


Graphical User Interface







Latest version 1.03/1.04 (premium ODF)