Sound examples (of the virtual organ)

Up close: P. Anton Estendorffer (1670-1711): Ciaccona super 'Joseph, lieber Joseph mein' (05:48)

Remote: Franz Anton Maichelbeck (1702-1750) & Johann-Michael Steinbacher (1700 - 1741): Divertimenti in Maihingen (19:08)



According to Die Baumeister-Orgel von 1737 in der Klosterkirche Maihingen1, this unique organ was built by Johann Martin Baumeister from 1734 to 1737, with the exception of the Rückpositiv which is attributed to Jakob Philipp Bouthellier. What makes it so special is that, due to an incredible combination of fortunate circumstances, it is almost perfectly preserved, including its original voicing2: In the course of the secularisation of the monastery of Maihingen, the instrument was sealed in 10/1802 and no longer used as masses where then held in the nearby parish church Mariä Himmelfahrt. In addition, Baumeister did not equip the organ with an entrance - an inconvenience which appears to have prevented potential attempts to perform maintenance work for a long time. Thus, when the organ was finally opened and restored from 1988-1990, it was de facto still in its original state as built and voiced bei Baumeister.
The restoration was carried out very carefully, and it was exceptionally well documented. The goal was to make the organ playable while working on it as little as possible so as to preserve its original state.
Having remained in its original state, its sound is unusual for today's ears, and, as Christoph Bossert demonstrates3, one needs to take one's time and get involved with it.
Patricularly noteworthy are the incredibly beautiful 8' flute, string and Quintatön stops, including the Cythara 8' which is a celeste stop to be used together with Flauten 8' for a tremulant like effect.
For extensive information about the organ (unfortunately all in German only), please have a look at



Bordon Copel 16'  
Principal 8'  
Spitzflauten 8'  
Quintatön 8'  
Gamba 8'  
Salecinal 8'  
Octava 4'  
Quint 3'  
Superoctav 2'  
Mixtur IV 1'  
Cymbel III 1/2'  
Copel 8'  
Cythara mit der Flauten allein 8'  
Flauten 8'  
Principal 4'  
Quint 3'  
Gembshorn 2'  
Mixtur III 1'  
Principalbass 16'  
Subbass 16'  
Octavbass 8'  
Quintbass 6'  
Abzug (HW-PD)    
Schiebekoppel RP-HW    
Koppel RP-PD    
Tuning : Modified meantone, f(a')=427.7 Hz. Deviation from equal temperament (cents):


About this virtual organ

The recordings for this sample set have been made using reference quality equipment and methods based on almost 20 years of experience. Processing was done using our new high quality VPOlab© system based on 17 years of experience in digital signal processing algorithms research and development. The result is a high quality sample set that sounds close to what is achievable with the dry+IR approach but can still be used like any conventional wet sample set.
This sample set introduces several innovations:

Highlights of this virtual organ


Graphical User Interface







Latest version 1.04